- You can keep your loved one’s social media up-to-date by filing a special request form on Facebook.
- You’ll need their full name.
- Email address.
- Date of death and the URL of their timeline.
If you choose not to permanently delete your account when dying, it will be memorialized and friends and family can post messages.
If you’re an immediate family member, you can request that the account be deleted instead of memorialized. To do this, use Facebook’s Special Request for Deceased Person’s Account form. You will need to provide the deceased person’s full name, email address, date of death and the URL of their Timeline
You can request that your Facebook account be deleted after you pass away by clicking “Delete After Death” in the Memorialization Settings option.
Request to Delete Your Account Following Death
Dead people can have their Facebook profiles memorialized, which means that the profile will appear on Facebook as though they were still alive. Memorialized profiles don’t go away and you’ll be able to connect with a person who has died through friends’ memories.
Facebook seems to have been promised an ever-growing number of users, with the company already claiming 3 billion active users. However, recent reports that there are as many as 30 million dead people with Facebook accounts put things in perspective: “dead person’s” account is likely only around 1% of the total user base.